The Weekend Australian Hardie Grant Travel Holidays with Kids Offset Alpine Printing Book Easy Datatrax CRVA Enterprise Connect The Sebel, Cairns Samuel Smith & Son AAA Tourism Accor Indigenous Business Australia Hostplus KPMG follow us on twitter be friendly to us on facebook get updates via rss Scene Change Works TV
March 3, 2012

2011 Australian Tourism Awards Winners

Last night  over 700 people enjoyed  a delicious dinner, fine wine and a night of entertainment at the Cairns Convention Centre for the 2011 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards.

Seith Fourmile and Tjapukai welcomed guests to  country in an evocative performance. Jessica Mauboy’s beautiful rendition of the national anthem brought a tear to our eyes, while the followup songs showcased her extraordinary talent.

Hosts Steve Liebmann and Zoe Naylor brought a profession and relaxed vibe to the night, which ended on the dance floor.

Winners were announced in 27 categories – and this year for the first time Silver and Bronze Award winners were also announced. These are Awards of encouragement and recognition for the significant efforts of these finalists.

The national Outstanding Contribution Award by an Individual was won by Grant Hunt (NT), who has earned a national reputation as an innovator with visionary thinking and leadership, particularly in the areas of responsible and sustainable tourism.

Stephen Thompson, Executive Manager Global Sales, Qantas, announced the winner of the Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism.

‘Qantas is proud to sponsor the Australian Tourism Awards and it is fantastic to see a diverse range of Australian businesses being recognised for their contribution to the Australian tourism industry.  Qantas launched the Sustainable Tourism Award to encourage Australian Tourism Operators to minimise their impact on the environment and showcase Australia to domestic and international tourists as one of the world’s leading sustainable tourism destinations.    We congratulate Lane Cove River Tourist Park (NSW) on winning the award this evening,” Mr Thompson said.


Comments are closed.