March 30, 2012

Explore the Best Australia has to Offer

Many of the winners  of the 2011 Australian Tourism Awards are now featured on Tourism Australia’a There’s nothing like Australia website.  The site features product and experiences that consumers can book or visit. Tourism Australia is a long term Gold Sponsor of the Australian Tourism Awards.

March 22, 2012

Hobart is the host city for the 2012 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards

Tasmania will be the host state for the 2012 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards to be held in Hobart in February 2013.

The Awards are the Australian tourism industry’s premier annual event, and promise to bring over 700 Australian tourism industry leaders to Tasmania to celebrate excellence and innovation in tourism.

The gala event will be held on Friday, February 15th, and will showcase two of Tasmania’s most famous visitor icons – MONA and the Hobart Waterfront

An Awards pre-dinner function will be held within the MONA Galleries, before guests travel by river cruise into Hobart for the gala dinner in the Princes Wharf Shed.

The event will be showcase the very best of Tasmania – with Tasmanian restaurateurs, chefs, producers and wineries from across the state being invited to contribute to the gala menu.

The event will also ‘bring MONA’ to the waterfront with entertainment set to be heavily influenced by the MONA FOMA being held just weeks earlier.

Tourism Tasmania are confirmed as the host state sponsor for the event.


March 3, 2012

2011 Australian Tourism Awards Winners

Last night  over 700 people enjoyed  a delicious dinner, fine wine and a night of entertainment at the Cairns Convention Centre for the 2011 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards.

Seith Fourmile and Tjapukai welcomed guests to  country in an evocative performance. Jessica Mauboy’s beautiful rendition of the national anthem brought a tear to our eyes, while the followup songs showcased her extraordinary talent.

Hosts Steve Liebmann and Zoe Naylor brought a profession and relaxed vibe to the night, which ended on the dance floor.

Winners were announced in 27 categories – and this year for the first time Silver and Bronze Award winners were also announced. These are Awards of encouragement and recognition for the significant efforts of these finalists.

The national Outstanding Contribution Award by an Individual was won by Grant Hunt (NT), who has earned a national reputation as an innovator with visionary thinking and leadership, particularly in the areas of responsible and sustainable tourism.

Stephen Thompson, Executive Manager Global Sales, Qantas, announced the winner of the Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism.

‘Qantas is proud to sponsor the Australian Tourism Awards and it is fantastic to see a diverse range of Australian businesses being recognised for their contribution to the Australian tourism industry.  Qantas launched the Sustainable Tourism Award to encourage Australian Tourism Operators to minimise their impact on the environment and showcase Australia to domestic and international tourists as one of the world’s leading sustainable tourism destinations.    We congratulate Lane Cove River Tourist Park (NSW) on winning the award this evening,” Mr Thompson said.